Former Members

Dr Tevfik Aysu

Tevfik Aysu completed his PhD from Yuzuncu Yil University and his 1 year postdoctoral study at Heriot-Watt University, School of Engineering & Physical Sciences in 2015 under the supervision of Dr Aimaro Sanna. His research visit at HWU was focused on the conversion of biomass into bio-oils with catalytic pyrolysis technique. He has published more than 30 papers in reputed journals and has been serving as an editorial board member of Journal of Applied Solution Chemistry and Modeling.

Dr Javier Fermoso

Dr Javier Fermoso is graduated in Chemical Engineering by the University of Salamanca (Spain) in 2003, and Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Oviedo (Spain) in 2009. He carried out his doctoral thesis at the National Institute of Coal, INCAR-CSIC in Oviedo (Spain) focused on the high-pressure co-gasification of coal and biomass for H2 production. In December 2016, he joined our research group as a Research Associate in bio-CCS, to work on the Innovate UK-EPSRC project “Biomass Gasification with High Temperature CO2 Capture” and on microalgae pyrolysis.

He is co-author of more than 41 papers, as well as he has presented more than 58 communications in national and international conferences. Since February 2019, Javier Fermoso is  a Senior Assistant Researcher at the Thermochemical Processes Unit (TCPU) of IMDEA Energy, Spain.


IMPEE bursaries: Vicky Mellor-Jones (2016), Lewis Powys (2016), Scott Munro (2019)

Visiting Scholars (Erasmus programme): Florent Boulet (2017), Thomas Corbet (2017), Mathias Aubert (2018), Tony Fernandez (2019)